Commonwealth Scholarships 2019 – 2020

About Commonwealth Scholarship Commission

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission or CSC in the UK is one of the largest and most reputable international scholarship institution in the world. CSC grants over 800 scholarships and fellowships for postgraduate and professional studies to Commonwealth citizens every year. Since its establishment in 1959, it has supported 35000 individuals through scholarships and fellowships funded by the UK government.

Commonwealth Scholarship

Commonwealth Scholarship are open for PhDSplit-site PhD and Master’s candidates from low and middle-income Commonwealth countries for postgraduate study at a UK university. The scholarship is funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID) which helps qualified individuals acquire the knowledge and skills needed for sustainable development. This is aimed at those who don’t have the financial capacity to study in the UK. The scholarships are offered under six themes:

Scholarship Requirements and Eligibility

General requirements:

PhD Scholarship Applicants:

Split-site PhD Scholarship Applicants:

CSC aims to support talented individuals with potential for change and encourages applications from a diverse range of candidates including people with disability. Visit the CSC disability support statement, for more information.

You should apply to study at a UK university which has a part funding agreement with the CSC. To know more about these universities, check the full list of UK universities with part funding agreements.

How to Apply and Application Details

Apply to one of the following nominating bodies, otherwise, direct applications will be rejected:

In addition to the application from the nominating bodies mentioned above (for PhD and Master’s applications), make an application to the CSC using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Application endorsement and submission by the nominating bodies are required, except for Split-site PhD scholarship. Applications should be submitted through EAS for all Commonwealth Scholarships. Include full transcripts detailing all higher education qualifications (with certified translations if not in English).

The following supporting documentation should accompany the application:

PhD Scholarship

Split-site PhD Scholarship

Master’s Scholarship

Applications will be reviewed based on the academic merit of the candidate, quality of the research proposal and potential contribution of the work on the development of the applicant’s home country.

Read the reminders on submitting applications through EAS.

Selection criteria for each Commonwealth Scholarship:

Full Terms and Conditions for each Commonwealth Scholarship:

Complete step-by-step guide on how to use the EAS for each Commonwealth Scholarship:

Read the FAQ for applicants.

Closing Date

 PhD and Master’s Scholarship: 04 January 2019   PhD Split-site Scholarship: 18 February 2019 

Contact Details


Woburn House
20-24 Tavistock Square,

Tel: +44 (0)207 380 6700