National Department of Social Development Bursary South Africa 2024 – 2025

By | January 30, 2019

National Department of Social Development Bursary South Africa 2024 – 2025


The Department of Social Development, established in 1937, is a government department in South Africa which is responsible for the management of social security, social assistance and social insurance due to loss of income – either by unemployment, age, death or disability.

The Department was previously known as the Department of Welfare, until it underwent a name change in 2000.


The bursary programme is intending for those who wish to pursue a career in Social Work, a scarce skill in the country.


The following expenses will be covered by the bursary: tuition, registration, prescribed textbooks, accommodation at the university.

Once students have completed their studies, they will be required to undertake the contractual obligation of the bursary.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • South African citizen,
  • Satisfy the University minimum entry requirements,
  • Studying or intend on studying within the field of social work.



Application forms can be collected from the Provincial Departments of Social Development or from the Social Work faculty of your University.

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document (certified copy),
  • Matric final results (certified copy),
  • Parents/ guardians ID documents (certified copies),
  • Parents/ guardians proof of income (payslips/ affidavit if unemployed),
  • Proof of admission into University/ proof of admission payment for,
  • Current University students must also include: academic record on official University letterhead.
READ ALSO  The Southern African Clothing – Textile Workers Union (SACTWU) Bursary South Africa 2024 – 2025


Applications must be submitted to Departments of Social Development office within your province:

Eastern Cape:
Physical Address: The Department of Social Development, Beacon Hill Office Park, Corner of Hargreaves Road and Hockley Close, Ground Floor, Room 50, King William’s Town, 5606
Postal Address: Private Bag X0039, BHISHO, 5606

Free State
Physical Address: The Department of Social Development, Old Mutual Building, Charlotte Maxeke Street, Fourth Floor (Room 408), Bloemfontein, 9300
Postal Address: Private Bag X20616, Bloemfontein, 9300

Physical Address: Gauteng Social Development, 75 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg, 2000
Postal Address: Private Bag X35, Johannesburg, 2000

Kwazulu Natal
Physical Address: Mayors Walk Office Park, 174 Mayors Walk Road, Pietermaritzburg, 3200

Physical Address: The Head, Bursary Section, Social Development, 18 College Street, Polokwane, 0700
Postal Address: Private Bag X9710, Polokwane, 0700

Physical Address: The Head, Bursary Section, The Department of Social Development, No 7 Government Boulevard, Riverside Complex, Building No.3 2nd Floor, Nelspruit, 1200
Postal Address: Private Bag X11213, Nelspruit, 1200

Northern Cape
Physical Address: Department of Social Development, Du Toit Span Building (15th Floor), Du Toit Span Street, Kimberley, 8300
Postal Address: Private Bag X5042, Kimberley, 8300

North West
Physical Address: Department Of Social Development, Provident House Building, University Drive, Mmabatho, 2735
Postal Address: Private Bag x 6, Mmabatho, 2735

Western Cape
Physical Address: 14 Queen Victoria Street, Union Building, Cape Town, 8000
Postal Address: P.O Box 659, Cape Town, 8000


31 October annually.
(Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted – please apply before the closing date to ensure your application is considered.)


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact the National Department of Social Development directly:
Contact People: Ms Vuyelwa Mngadi / Ms Kefiloe Fokase
Tel: 012 312 7294 / 012 312 7223
Email: /

READ ALSO  Potato Industry Development Trust Bursaries South Africa 2024 – 2025

Alternatively, please contact your nearest Department of Social Development
Eastern Cape: Ms Nomathemba Gola (043 605 5042)/ CUSTOMER CARE (043 605 5000)
Free State: Ms Jane Buffel (051 400 0207/ 204/ 202)
Gauteng: Ms A Snyman (011 355 7669), Ms F Siluma (011 355 7780), Mr J Molaudzi (011 227 0020), Mr S Nkosi (011 355 7882), Mr T Nhlapho (011 355 7954), Ms V Mutheiwana (011 355 7681)
Kwazulu Natal: Mr Bhekuyise Sibiya (033 264 2104/ 2122)
Limpopo: Ms M Ragau (015 293 6321), Mr Nkgatli Mashola (015 293 6308), Ms R Maleka (015 293 6215
Mpumalanga: Mr A Mashigo (013 766 3181)
Northern Cape: Ms Zindra Avenant (053 831 4041)
North West: Ms Bonolo Mosidi (018 388 3746), Mr Thuso Mokhasi (018 388 3747), Ms Pinky Mathe (018 388 2863)
Western Cape: Ms Lee-Ann George (021 483 6183), Ms Nathley Louw (021 483 6727)

See Also:  Bursaries Open All Year Round

See Also : South African Bursaries January , February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December